Bat Safari Punting

Bat Safari Punt Tours

Wildlife Trust Bat Safari Punting

Join the Wildlife Trust on a Bat Safari punt for adventures at dusk towards Grantchester Meadows.

Grab this chance to see our fantastic local bat population as they emerge from hibernation in May and follow their activities until their return to a snug hideout for winter. 

The tours are led by knowledgeable Wildlife Trust Bat Experts and they'll make sure you get the most from your experience. The tours are chauffeured and include the use of specialist electronic bat detectors which convert the bats' sonar signals into audible frequencies.

Your guide will outline the characteristics and habitats of bats likely to be encountered on your trip and teach you how to use the detectors. You'll identify exactly which species of bat are flying close to your punt and find out about our amazing local species.

Last year record breaking numbers of people booking bat punts meant that the Wildlife Trust for Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire and Northamptonshire received more than £10,000 as 50% of ticket sales. 

 

2019 Bat Safari Schedule:

  Date Departure time   Date Departure time
May 10/05/19 Fri 20:15 Aug 02/08/19 Fri 20:30
May 17/05/19 Fri 20:30 Aug 03/08/19 Sat 20:30
May 24/05/19 Fri 20:45 Aug 09/08/19 Fri 20:15
May 31/05/19 Fri 20:45 Aug 10/08/19 Sat 20:15
Jun 07/06/19 Fri 21:00 Aug 16/08/19 Fri 20:00
Jun 14/06/19 Fri 21:00 Aug 17/08/19 Sat 20:00
Jun 21/06/19 Fri 21:15 Aug 23/08/19 Fri 19:45
Jun 28/06/19 Fri 21:15 Aug 24/08/19 Sat 19:45
Jul 05/07/19 Fri 21:00 Aug 30/08/19 Fri 19:30
Jul 06/07/19 Sat 21:00 Aug 31/08/19 Sat 19:30
Jul 12/07/19 Fri 21:00 Sep 06/09/19 Fri 19:15
Jul 13/07/19 Sat 21:00 Sep 07/09/19 Sat 19:15
Jul 19/07/19 Fri 20:45 Sep 13/09/19 Fri 19:00
Jul 20/07/19 Sat 20:45 Sep 14/09/19 Sat 19:00
Jul 26/07/19 Fri 20:45 Sep 20/09/19 Fri 18:45
Jul 27/07/19 Sat 20:45 Sep 21/09/19 Sat 18:45

 

Bat Safari 2019 Tickets

90 mins

Book your tickets and learn about this important mammals.

Type Price* Quantity
Adult £21.00
Child (under 16) £16.00
Concession ? £19.50

Additional Information

Your chauffeur will wear seasonal uniform that is best suited to the day's weather. Our punts can seat up to 12 people and are dressed with cushions and blankets for your comfort. Punts are equipped with extra blankets as well as umbrellas in case the weather changes.

Bat Safari Tours can be taken from our Granta Place Boatyard in the direction of Grantchester. Your tour will include the use of specialist bat detectors. Online bookings should be made 48 hours in advance. For last minute bookings please contact our Bookings Team on 01223 359750.

Gift Vouchers

Gift Vouchers

Uniquely 'Cambridge' experience vouchers. Choose from adventure, luxury and history.

Read more

Season Tickets

Season Tickets

Punt every day till 30th September for the equivalent of less than £1 a day!

Read More

Family Punting Offer

Family Punting Offer

Have the best Cambridge day out for less with your family!

Read More

Email or Call Us: 01223 359750

Today’s opening times: 09:00 – 20:30, last tour departs 19:30